Go To Search
Click to Home

Citizen of the Year
Each year, the mayor awards a Citizen of the Year award to an outstanding member of the community. Nominations are always welcome. Nominations in writing can be submitted by any individual or group and must be 500 words or less. The nominee must be a citizen of the City of New Berlin, and achievements must be recent or ongoing. A winner is selected in April of every year.

Nominations are judged on contributions to community welfare, civic achievement, contribution of something of a lasting effect to the community, volunteerism, and enrichment of the cultural, civic, and youth facilities of the City of New Berlin.

Presentation of Awards
The award is presented by the mayor at a Common Council meeting. The mayor’s office is always looking to recognize the members of our community who help make New Berlin a great place to live, work, and play. Please take the time to nominate an outstanding New Berlin resident who has given tirelessly to our community. Nominations can be submitted to the mayor's office:
3805 S. Casper Dr.
New Berlin, WI 53151

Past Recipients
Our distinguished past Citizen of the Year award recipients are: 

  • Darrell Standish - 2016
  • Mario DeLuca - 2015               
  • Marion Onesti - 2014
  • Stephanie Brown - 2013
  • William Christel - 2012
  • Jeanne Holden - 2011
  • Randy Bubolz - 2010 
  • Beatrice Alexander - 2009 


  • Wayne Hamilton - 2008
  • John Ziino - 2007
  • Don & Jackie Hermann - 2006
  • Al Stigler - 2005 
  • Chuck Conway - 2004 
  • Jim Lindenberg - 2003 
  • Kathlene Sisson - 2002 
  • Alfred Peters - 2001